The Pontifical University Antonianum is a teaching and research institution sponsored by the Order of Friars Minor: The main office is located in Rome, in via Merulana 124.

Other offices are in Jerusalem - Department of Biblical Sciences and Archeology -, Murcia - Theológical Institute of Murcia - e Venezia - San Bernardino Institute of Ecumenical Studies.

Brief History

The Pontifical University Antonianum was founded in 1887, when the then General Minister of the Order of Friars Minor, Rev, Bernardino Del Vago da Portogruaro, completed the initiative to re-establish in Rome a general house of studies for the whole Order.

Academic activity began with the blessing of Pope Leo XIII, on November 20, 1890. Forty-three years later on May 17, 1933, by decree of the Congregation of Seminaries and Universities of Studies, Pius XI declared canonically erected the Athenaeum Antonianum of Urbe - the title of pontifical university came on June 14, 1938. These decrees authorized the Antonianum to confer academic degrees of bachelor, licentiate and doctorate thanks to the Theology, Canon Law and Philosophy Faculties (Departments).

Eventually on January 11, 2005, with the introduction of the Department of Biblical Sciences and Archeology, which was already a part of the Theology Faculty as the Studium Biblicum Franciscanum, John Paul II granted the Pontifical Athenaeum Antonianum the tile of Pontifical University.

Present Structure

Over the years, the University was able to increase its educational offerings and the three original departments were joined in their academic efforts of teaching and research by the Department of Biblical Sciences and Archeology, the Franciscan Institute of Spirituality, the Theológical Institute of Murcia and the San Bernardino Institute of Ecumenical Studies which operate in the area of the Theology Department, the Higher School of Medieval and Franciscan Studies and the Redemptor Hominis Higher Institute of Religious Sciences.

There are presently nine affiliated institutes - eight with the Theology Faculty, one with the Philosophy Faculty -, in Brazil, Ecuador, Italy, Mexico, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Zambia.

Other institutions connected in various capacities at the University are the Scotus Commission for the critical edition of the works of John Duns Scotus and the Pontifical Marian International Academy for the promotion of the scientific studies of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Italian Center for Lullism and the Sinica Commission.